EV3 Robotics

I have been interested in robotics for a while now. My son has owned a Lego Mindstorms EV3 Home edition model for a few years. I have taught robotics units in the past with Mindstorms NXT2 and Mindstorms EV3. This year I am teaching a robotics unit to both grades 9 and 10 using Lego Mindstorms EV3 Educational kits.

I spent time this weekend developing robot activities and testing basic EV3 programs. Here are some of my resources which should give you ideas about how to use EV3 at home or in the classroom.

Square travel with smooth corners using a loop

 squaresmoothcornerloop_code

Bumper bot – using the touch sensor

bumperbot_code

Lift arm – using the medium motor – makes me think of park ride mechanics

liftarm_code

Colour Sensor – using the colour sensor, loop, switch, variables, wiring, display, sound, concatenation, increment

coloursensor_code

Remember, building and programming robots is more fun when you’re working with a friend, colleague or a team. I attended a Lego Mindstorms EV3 workshop recently run by mta. It was a good review of Mindstorms for me and a fun way to spend some time with my colleague.

EV3 workshop

Leave a Reply

