Are you well educated?

Recently I have been overly concerned about how to best prepare our youth for their future work and I remembered I had written this blog post 4 years ago! It seems timely, at least for me :-), to again, reflect & evaluate what it means to be “successful”:

elketeaches

In a conversation with my Mum yesterday I found myself dismissing the achievements/experiences of my Canadian diploma in Business Admin – Information Systems and my 6 years of tertiary teaching.  In context, this was simply because the Queensland College of Teachers told me 2 years ago that my education and work experience “meant nothing” when applying for the 1 year post-grad Education course.  Of course, in reality my diploma, work experience and life experiences are very valuable because they all combine to make up the person that I am today.  I am now also working on my 4-year BofEducation(Secondary) so that I can finally get a degree and so that I can teach in High Schools.

So in that conversation yesterday my Mum stopped me, and like the great Mum that she is, reminded me of the worth of my accomplishments and past experiences.  This led me back on the never-ending question of what does it mean to be educated…

View original post 439 more words

Leave a Reply

