Superhero Daughter Day & TouchDevelop

On Saturday I took my daughter to the Tech Girls Movement & Diverse City Careers Superhero Daughter Day, sponsored by Microsoft and Women in Technology. The event was full of superhero girls, their parents and some awesome IT women role models. We all received the Tech Girls are Superheroes 2 book (which schoolgirls & schools can order for free!). We first heard about some inspiring things that are happening with girls in IT, ate some yummy cupcakes on the 28th floor of the Microsoft Tower (great view of South Bank!), and then we had fun coding using Microsoft’s Touch Develop.

Touch Develop is pretty easy to play around with if you’re new to computer programming. There are 3 skill levels; my daughter liked the block-style coding while I preferred the text-based coding. When playing around with Turtle programming I did not notice any difference between the “Coder” and “Expert” code.

My daughter's first Touch Develop Turtle program

My daughter’s first Touch Develop Turtle program

My quick example of using text-based programming in Touch Develop

My quick example of using text-based programming in Touch Develop

 

We had fun coding and meeting Jenine and other women in IT. My daughter especially loved the cupcakes!  🙂

 

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

One comment on “Superhero Daughter Day & TouchDevelop

  1. […] us type the swift code instead of limiting us to only drag & drop?  At least this is something Microsoft’s TouchDevelop allows you to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

