Making Classrooms Better – a book review

book

I recently read Tracey Tokuhama-Espinosa’s new book, “Making Classrooms Better”.  I was excited to read this book for the potential to enlighten myself with more in-depth knowledge about mind, brain & education science (MBE).

The first chapter got me excited because it explored the links and current limitations of learning from neuroscience, psychology and teacher pedagogical practice.  The second chapter highlighted the main ways that teachers influence student learning and closely aligned itself to Hattie’s Visible Learning studies.  Chapter three was a refresher on models of education like Bloom’s Taxonomy, Habits of Mind etc.

Chapters 4, 5 & 6 listed the 50 “Best Classroom” Practices. It is by chapter 4 that I start to wonder where the specific scientific links and depth to MBE has gone. The “Best Classroom” practices are nothing startling new but they are a usefully set-out and explained in this book. I think I was hoping for more technical neuroscience information that could inform my decisions on best practice.  This book is a good resource to have but don’t buy it if you’re looking for something new.  I like that it’s easy to read and for me it will be useful as a quick reference for classroom strategies.

I may have to stick to reading current journal articles for more in-depth knowledge and potentially new findings.

Leave a Reply

