Are we losing out on REAL life when we focus so much on technology?

My second week of Semester 1, Year 3 of my BofEducation(Secondary) study is coming to an end and I am exhausted!  There is loads of things to study (as usual) and assignments to do, kids to wrangle and a house to clean.  I haven’t seen my friends in a while but thank goodness for ICT or I wouldn’t have got all those nice text messages, emails and Facebook posts.  Or am I looking at this the wrong way?  Maybe if we weren’t so rolled-up in ICT, so integrated with ICT in our everyday lives that maybe we would make the time to see our friends more?

I know for a FACT that if I take away the kid’s 3DS consoles they inevitably complain but guess what they do instead?  Play Lego with each other, jump on the trampoline, read books and pretend to be fairies or characters from Star Wars.

I’ve started to wonder if maybe there is too much focus on ICT in Education and not enough of that often yearned-for old feeling of “real” connectedness with “real” people.  Don’t get me wrong, I am an advocate of integrating ICT in Education and I think there’s some great ways to use ICT but I would hate for it to get to the point where we don’t even notice the people around us.  Of course there is a strong case for including ICT in a teacher’s pedagogy and focusing on the way ICT best fits a particular lesson and to make sure that there is something to be gained in doing this. The key here is using ICT to “enhance” a learning experience, not to use ICT just because we have access to it.

2 comments on “Are we losing out on REAL life when we focus so much on technology?

  1. 22margaret says:

    …balance in all things

    Like

  2. […] around us. The blog entitled Are we missing out on real life when we focus so much on technology? https://elketeaches.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/technology-use-without-meaning-no-increase-in-learning/ was food for thought and I have to say something I have pondered myself. While I enjoy using […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

