digital divide is real

If you’ve been following my blog you’ll know that I have often written about the concept/reality of a digital divide. I defined this and explored it in more detail in this video I created HERE.  I have also highlighted the social benefits of social media for youth and I had looked at the authentic disconnect between school & work.

Most of my previous blog posts had been based on research.  I had hoped that I would not find this digital divide in reality and yet I have!  I teach in a large Australian urban high school now and I have seen this digital divide.  I have randomly asked students and whole-classes about their Internet and social media use. There are many students who are still visibly shocked when I tell them that using Facebook, Twitter, Wikispaces and Google docs are all great skills to have (and ALL blocked at school!).  It concerns me that students in Year 11 (16-17 years old) believe that Facebook and Twitter are “bad”.  It is imperative that we teach youth how to create & maintain a positive digital footprint.

Before I started teaching at this school I looked for jobs outside of High School teaching.  EVERY job that I applied to, from working/teaching with Qld Police, Qld Hospitals & not-for-profit organisations that helped new immigrants settle in Australia, ALL listed social media skills as a hiring requirement.

I do a lot of online shopping and EVERY store I deal with has a social media presence.  These Facebook & Twitter organisation/business sites don’t exist out-of-nowhere, someone has to be EMPLOYED to create and manage these tools. I believe youth that graduate high school today with limited digital skills & social media skills are at a socio-economic disadvantage.

6 comments on “digital divide is real

  1. Margaret Seydel says:

    Elke this could be your next body of work! I come across people everyday trying to ignore the digital future!
    It won’t work for them; life requires knowledge and skills across the full spectrum…
    M Seydel

  2. […] If you've been following my blog you'll know that I have often written about the concept/reality of a digital divide. I defined this and explored it in more detail in this video I created HERE. I …  […]

  3. […] If you've been following my blog you'll know that I have often written about the concept/reality of a digital divide. I defined this and explored it in more detail in this video I created HERE. I …  […]

  4. […] If you've been following my blog you'll know that I have often written about the concept/reality of a digital divide. I defined this and explored it in more detail in this video I created HERE. I …  […]

  5. […] See on elketeaches.wordpress.com […]

  6. […] If you've been following my blog you'll know that I have often written about the concept/reality of a digital divide. I defined this and explored it in more detail in this video I created HERE. I …  […]

Leave a Reply

